Talk to an attorney now
Talk to an attorney now
Arizona has some of the harshest DUI laws in the country to discourage people from driving drunk. Even a first-time offender can face a mandatory period in jail, at least $250 in fines, and other serious consequences. A DUI conviction also leads to a permanent mark on your record.
While a DUI charge is serious, an extreme or super extreme DUI charge is even more severe. As with other crimes, it’s more serious to receive an extreme or super extreme DUI charge with a previous conviction on your record. We’ll talk about these crimes, penalties for extreme and super extreme DUIs, and what to do if you’re facing such a charge.
Arizona’s legal limit for driving with alcohol in your system is 0.08 percent. If you’re arrested with a blood alcohol content of 0.15 to 0.19 percent, you could get an extreme DUI charge. Your penalties will differ depending on whether it’s your first or second extreme DUI charge. A super extreme DUI may result from driving with a BAC of at least 0.20 percent.
An extreme DUI is a misdemeanor crime in Arizona. Your first offense in Mesa carries a $2,500 fine (minimum) plus other costs. An extreme DUI offender must serve 30 days in jail. You may be able to suspend part of the jail sentence if you get an Ignition Interlock Device put in your car. For committing extreme DUI, you may lose your license for 3 months and receive an order to install an Ignition Interlock Device in your car for 12 months.
If you receive a second extreme DUI charge within the 7-year period following a previous conviction, you’ll have to pay a fine of at least $3,250, in addition to other costs. The mandatory jail sentence for a second offense is 120 days, and the license suspension period will last at least a year. You’ll also be required to put an Ignition Interlock Device in your car for 18 months.
SR-22 Insurance for Extreme DUI
If you’ve received an extreme DUI conviction, you must start an SR-22 insurance policy when you resume driving. An SR-22 is filed with the state by your insurance agency and proves you’re covered. Most drivers must carry their SR-22 policy for 18 months. Fulfilling the SR-22 coverage requirement will enable you to reinstate your registration and license. The state or court will inform you if you’re required to get this coverage. They should also let you know why it’s necessary and the details of your requirements.
Super extreme DUI is a misdemeanor, like extreme DUI, but it has a longer jail sentence than most first-offense felony crimes. If you receive this charge, you’ll have to pay a $3,250 fine plus other costs, serve 6 months in jail, and have your license suspended for at least a year. As a super extreme DUI offender, you must also have an Ignition Interlock Device installed for 2 years.
If you receive a second conviction for super extreme DUI, you’ll have to pay a $3,750 fine plus additional costs. The offender must go to jail for 6 months and have their license suspended for at least a year. Similar to the penalties for a first super extreme DUI offense, you’ll also have to put an Ignition Interlock Device in your car for 2 years.
SR-22 Insurance for Super Extreme DUI
When you can drive again after your license suspension, you’ll have to buy SR-22 insurance for a 3-year period following a super extreme DUI conviction. If you don’t keep up with your SR-22 coverage, your insurance agency must let the DMV know. You could also experience higher car insurance rates as a result.
Most DUI offenders can have their booking photos uploaded to the Maricopa County Attorneys’ Office website. Typically, case details aren’t added with the photos. However, offenders in the extreme or super extreme DUI category may be displayed on the website, including their sobriety test results.
If you’ve received an extreme or super extreme DUI charge, you don’t necessarily have to get convicted of the crime. Working with an experienced criminal defense attorney is a good way to increase your odds of a favorable outcome for your case. They’ve seen countless cases like yours and will know exactly how to advise you.
Your lawyer may ask you about your specific BAC, possible procedural violations, or potential issues with the sobriety testing method. Each of these factors can play a role in the outcome for your case. With the information you give them, they can go to work on building your defense. With a strong case, the prosecution may offer a reduced sentence. Extreme or super extreme DUI offenses are more serious than a regular DUI, so it’s extra important to work with a professional.
Getting arrested for a DUI is serious and can lead to time in jail, a license suspension, and high fines. You may also experience hardships in your personal life and have a harder time advancing with future professional opportunities. If you’re dealing with this type of charge, it’s not worth it to gamble with your future.
Although some legal matters are easily resolved on your own, an extreme or super extreme DUI warrants the advice of a professional. Working with a skilled criminal defense attorney may enable you to get your charges dismissed or reduced.
Copyright © 2020 MesaDUIAttorneys.com | 40 N. Center Street, Suite 204